Sleepless at Midnight

Sleepless at Midnight (Mayhem in Mayfair, #1)Miss Sarah Moorehouse is her sisters companion and has come with her to a house party. She is not looking for a man, only to be with her sister and friends, and in the quiet hours of the night her friends will discuss scandalous books. Sarah’s active imagination will lead her to wonder about their host Matthew Devenport and what he was doing late at night.

Matthew Devenport, Marquess Langston, had a limited time to do his fathers bidding and his time was almost up. If he couldn’t find what he needed he would have to marry a wealthy heiress whom he didn’t love. It becomes difficult when his thoughts will be only surrounding Sarah.

Sleepless at Midnight is the first book to the series Mayhem in Mayfair by Jacquie D’Alessandro. I absolutely loved reading this book. It was fun with with characters that you wanted to read about. I wanted to know about Matthew and Sarah as they were characters that captivated my attention.

Sarah was a spinster and knew it. She didn’t dream of finding a man wanting her but low and behold she will find a man who will want her. The problem is the man needs an heiress. The good thing is there is an attraction that is on both sides. Sarah is an artist and has an active imagination but she is right that Matthew is up to something. I liked that D’Alessandro gave us only little hints to what Matthew was up too. That kept your attention on the book. Matthew was a good man in a bad situation. I loved how he wanted Sarah but he fought it knowing he could never have her. Well that good intention will go out the window when Matthew kisses her.

The villain you knew would be a member of the house party. It was just a matter of figuring out which one was the person. I liked the conclusion D’Alessandro gave to the villain which results in a very happy ending for this unlikely couple. I was really happy with how D’Alessandro ended the book with Sarah and Matthew, it was the perfect happy ending that had me smiling as I closed the book.

I will be reading Carolyn, Sarah’s sister, next.

Mistress By Mistake

Mistress by Mistake (Courtesan Court, #1)Charlotte Fallon was considered a spinster and one with a reputation that could not be fixed thanks to her past. She will be thrust into a new scandal thanks to her sister who will flee her potential new lover for the man that wants to marry. Charlotte will be told to be the substitute mistress. Charlotte will not agree but before she can tell Sir Michael Bayard she will be swept up into a life of pleasure.

Sir Michael Bayard had lusted after his soon to be mistress and cannot wait to make her his own. Michael will find his lusty mistress but will be shocked to find that she is not the sister he paid for. Michael will be furious at the deceit but he cannot dismiss Charlotte from his life, that is until a part of his past comes to make trouble.

Mistress by Mistake is the first book to Maggie Robinson’s series Courtesan Court. Alright now she is still a very new author and from the last book I read I figured I would like this story. Now I really did like the book but for me it was a rough beginning as it was a little absurd with how they acted and the situation. The book gets better and I find myself turning each page to the end to find out what will happen to these two, the sister and this crazy ex wife.

I got to like the characters of Charlotte and Michael throughout the book and wanted them to find that happiness with each other. Now the romance between them is nothing but sex and they are very compatible in that aspect.

You saw the villain coming and I was kind of shocked at the scene towards the end where Michael is the one in trouble. I wasn’t so sure I was okay that the person involved wasn’t really punished but at least Robinson gave Michael and Charlotte a chance. Robinson wraps up Charlotte and Michael’s story and I can see myself going after more from the author.

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing A Rake

Lady Calpurnia Hartwell or known as Callie has been put on the shelf knowing that she will never find that love, never find a husband. Seeing her sister find love will make her want more and Callie will do something about it this time.

Gabriel St. John, Marquess of Ralston is in a bind when he meets his sister he never knew about. Gabriel will want the best for his new sister and that requires a proper companion to steer her in the right direction. That woman comes to him in the middle of the night in the form of Lady Calpurnia.

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a RakeAs Rules of Scoundrels series is not out with another book I wanted one more from the author so I looked to another series. Love By Numbers looks to be a trilogy and Sarah MacLeans first book Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake. I really love how MacLean can weave a tale that has you wanting more. This story was well done and something I couldn’t wait to finish. It was also charming and funny especially with how Callie’s mission was to complete her list. I liked that Callie was becoming a reformed spinster with how daring she soon became. Now Gabriel was a man you did not want to tangle with with his icy glares. He softened at the right moments especially when facing with Callie. He almost became a reformed rake with Callie around as she kept him on her toes. He was a man who did what he liked but found it baffling in a woman like Callie but needless to say he kept up with her. I liked their interaction throughout the book as it was playful and passion filled. They kept you going throughout the book waiting to find out what would happen next from Callie’s list. I thought the product of the list was clever and made you want to cheer for Callie’s success all the more, in love and finding the new Callie.

In the book there is a mention of the Duke of Leighton who is mentioned in A Rogue By Any Other Name. It was interesting to read about him as he was the one that jilted Penelope and it looks like it will be for Gabriel’s new half sister if I am not mistaken. I am taking a break from Sarah MacLean for the moment but by no means am I done with the author.

Along Came A Duke

Tabitha Timmons was a spinster and had acknowledge that she would remain so but then she receives an inheritance. Tabitha rejoices until she finds out that her Uncle says she has to marry this particular man or she can’t receive the inheritance. Tabitha is not thrilled at this prospect and even less so when she meets a man who makes her heart beat faster than she has ever felt before.

Duke of Preston is a man who has been given the direct cut by the ton as he has scandal follow him like a shadow. Preston will meet Tabitha and knows that there is more to her than the spinster everyone sees. When he finds out that she is to be betrothed he knows he must stop this from happening.

Along Came A DukeStill new to Elizabeth Boyle I found Along Came a Duke which is the first book of Rhymes With Love series. I have tried a couple of her books already in two different series.  I have found that with the other two books it was hard to get into her stories. The same can be said with this one in the very beginning. I found though once you got through a third of the book I was changing my tune and finding these characters and plot enjoyable. Tabitha did what she was told but there was a rebellious streak that she longed to go towards and Preston gives her those moments which I loved. I also liked how Boyle creates Tabitha’s family and her almost betroths family as villains. There was cruelty in how Tabitha was overlooked and secrets which made it easy to dislike them.

As I keep hopping from one series to another I think this time I will stick with Rhymes With Love series to the end.