Death, Taxes and Sweet Potato Fries

I don’t normally check out just any book. I usually like to do some research on what the book is about and if it is part of a series. Well I guess I am looking for a change because I had gone to my library and just browsed the new fiction. The book Death, Taxes and Sweet Potato Fries immediately caught my attention. I am an accountant so I was immediately intrigued with a book with the word taxes in the title.

IRS Special Agent Tara Holloway is given a new case with the coyotes which will lead her to her ex-boyfriend’s company, who could be part of the situation. Tara will have to find the missing girls before the coyotes could get away with human trafficking and she will get some help from her team and fiance, Nick.

Death, Taxes and Sweet Potato Fries is the eleventh book to the series by Diane Kelly. I knew immediately as I started the book that it was a story already in progress but it did not stop me from enjoying the book. This was quirky and a little out there but overall enjoyable.

Tara’s character is a woman who can do what she wanted. She didn’t need to be assisted by a man but she will give in every once in awhile to the man she loves. I liked that Tara was a take charge but that can often get someone in trouble. I liked the relationship she had with Nick. It was stable and you knew that Nick would be sticking around. He also balanced Tara’s character.

I am not sure that I will read the entire series even though I found this one to be entertaining. I will look into the series and see what other cases that Tara has to solve.

 

Leave a Reply

