Blue-Eyed Devil

Hardy Cates was a self made man and always wanted more and he did all he could to get it. Then he found a woman, Haven. She was a woman he could not get but with her divorce Hardy was going to go after the woman he wanted.

Haven Travis had thought she married for love but she had been wrong. Now with a broken marriage behind her Haven will try to get her life together. She wasn’t expecting Hardy to come into her life.

Blue Eyed Devil is the second book to the series Travises by Lisa Kleypas. After I had finished the first book I was apprehensive about reading this book, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed this book. I picked up the book and kept reading from start to finish.

Hardy’s character was much better in his own story. I liked that there was no flirtation between him and Liberty. I didn’t want his pursuing of Haven to be tainted by that. I felt that he had matured some and wasn’t as cruel. Though he was still certainly rough around the edges and that will certainly help when he is needed by Haven. Now Haven’s character was the one that truly drew me into the book. I was drawn to her because of the mistake she made and cringed every time she was hurt. What I liked was she finally got the courage and changed what needed to be changed. She took her life back.

The villain is clearly Nick, Haven’s ex, who is a piece of work. He is an abusive man who wants only to have someone to beat down on. The other villain was Vanessa who seemed to be cut from the same cloth as Nick. I wouldn’t lie, I was pretty happy that there was some justice for their cruelty.

I am reading the third book next, Smooth Talking Stranger.

Leave a Reply

