Devil in Spring

Lady Pandora Ravenel just wanted to create her board games and sell them. She had no need to enjoy society as she was not looking for a husband, although that is exactly what she will get. Pandora will get caught up in a scandal and find out that having a husband might not be a bad thing.

Gabriel, St Lord Vincent, was only trying to help a young woman out of some trouble. Then he will be brought into a scandal and be forced to make that woman his wife. Though Gabriel will find out that it wouldn’t be quite as dismal as he thought.

Devil in Spring is the third book to the series Ravenels by Lisa Kleypas. So I have been waiting for this book and waiting since I had heard about it. It was only because I was excited to read about Gabriel, who is Evie’s and Sebastian’s son. They are from the book Devil in Winter, which has to be one of my favorites. After finishing the book I can say the book was okay, it was by no means my favorite, which is a shame as I was really anticipating loving this book.

I think my issues with the book was that it just felt very slow, I was pushing myself at times to read the story. Then the story line with the villain which really was rushed. I think a story line could have been developed a little better with the problem but it was just not. The last is Pandora’s character. Now I didn’t mind that she was clumsy or spoke her mind without thinking. You knew that she loved her family and did the best that she could. The part that was weird was when all of a sudden Pandora’s character became more childlike. It was strange and it threw me off the story a little.

Alright, enough of the bad and now with good. I loved that Evie and Sebastian make several appearances within the story. They made the story more interesting. Gabriel’s character was similar to his father. I liked that when he found the right woman he was to be devoted even when his ex-mistress comes into the story. Now Pandora, even though I disliked her at times, I loved her business sense. She was making her own board games and selling them. She was a strong female who knew that she wanted more from her life.

So even though I had some issues with this book I know when the next Ravenels books is out I will pick it up and read it.

One thought on “Devil in Spring

  1. I liked this one. I find it hard not to like a Kleypas book but I agree with some of your issues.

Leave a Reply

