Trust Me: Matty and Kayla

Matty McDaniels took care of his brothers which was why he was allowing himself to be blackmailed by the neighborhood gangster. He would become Mick’s fighter for a year which would pay off his debt. Matty thought it would be easy, but he wasn’t counting on Kayla James.

Kayla James was good at her job and was now given more work when Mick was expanding to legit fighters. She was excited to work in the sport, even though she wanted to be the fighter. Kayla will become hesitant when she meets Matty.

Trust Me: Matty and Kayla is the second story to the trilogy the McDaniel’s Brothers by Christine Bell. After finishing the first book I was really looking forward to reading Matty especially as he was being forced to continue his association with Mick. I really enjoyed this story. It was frustrating that I couldn’t just sit down and read the story. I have been too busy with work but every time I pick up the book I was brought back into the story.

Matty’s character was someone who was a fighter, in the literal sense, and as a job. Matty had a terrible childhood, along with his brothers, but he kept going and providing for his brothers. He never lost himself to violence or drugs, like his parents. I wanted Matty to have his chance at a career as a fighter. You knew that he would but with the roadblock that was coming his way it would hurt him. Kayla’s character surprised me. I liked her immediately with her strength of character. She too was a fighter. She had a horrible childhood but fought against all that came her way. I wanted Kayla to get her chance at being a fighter, to live her dream.

The romance between Matty and Kayla was intense. It was a fire that burned between them and it burned brightly. It was sad with how they were each were broken in the relationship department but they healed each other. It was a slow heal with lots of bumps in the road.

The villain was of course Mick and the outcome did surprise me. I was happy with it but can’t help but wonder if the McDaniel’s are done with Mick. There will be an issue in Reid’s story with a character that is going to destroy the brothers, which I read in the epilogue. I am reading Reid’s story next which will end the trilogy.

Leave a Reply

