Duke of Sin

Duke of SinValentine Napier, the Duke of Montgomery dealt in secrets and blackmailing anyone he wanted. Though Val will find his latest scheme is being stopped by his housekeeper, who suddenly caught his attention.

Bridget Crumb was on a mission to find out what Val was blackmailing a person in Bridget’s life. She was desperate to find the objects but she will get sidetracked when Val makes his presence known in her life.

Duke of Sin is the tenth book of the series Maiden Lane by Elizabeth Hoyt. I really loved this book. I had been waiting to read this book as I was fascinated with Val and how evil he was, and he really was evil in the book.

Val’s character was a villain. There was a lot a bad in this man as he was blackmailing anyone and everyone but I found myself discovering the good as well. He wouldn’t necessarily be a hero at first glance, but it was there. I would say he was a white knight but his armor was tarnished. He shows his good side with how he protects his sister and how he helps those around him, well helps them in his own way. I really loved the interaction between him and Bridget. He was showing her how he was a horrible man but as he was around her, he kept letting his guard down little by little. Now Bridget’s character was interesting. She really took her job as a housekeeper seriously. She made sure everyone who was supposed to do their jobs got them done. Though there was more to Bridget and that intrigued me. I liked the secret she carried and how it played later on in the book. I also really liked that she was strong enough to want to love Val, to care for him when very few had done so before her.

I am reading Once Upon a Moonlit Night next which is a novella with the character Hippolyta Royle who was in this novel. I read the summary and it sounds like it takes place where her story had ended in the novel and I am looking forward to reading her story.

Leave a Reply

