Vinegar Girl

vinegar-girlKate Battista is the family member who does everything for her family. She wants out but doesn’t really know how or what she would do when that happened. Kate will be blindsided when her father wants her to marry his coworker, so the coworker can stay in the country.

Vinegar Girl is a novel by Anne Tyler is a modern version of The Taming of the Shrew. First off I liked this book but it was a gradual like. I did not open this book and begin to read loving it. In fact I was wondering what the big deal was about the book. My cousin loved it and I was giving her the benefit of the doubt. I found myself slowing being pulled into the story. It was a story that charmed me and I found myself really enjoying the book as I turned the last page.

Kate’s character was a woman who wanted out of her situation but like a dutiful daughter she did what she needed to do. I liked that Kate had a sarcastic side and she will finally stand up to those around her at least some of the time. Personally I wasn’t really sure if her father’s coworker would be a good match. He seemed a little strange and I didn’t like he was going along with the plan but as the story went on I really ended up liking them as a couple. They balanced each other out.

I thought that the father was hopeless but he was a good man. Then there was Bunny who was a spoiled child and going after whatever she wanted. I really don’t think Bunny learns anything at the end of the book, but I was okay with that as I was just happy Kate and Pyotr got their happy ending.

Leave a Reply

