Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride

mr-darcy-presents-his-brideAfter reading all of Jane Austen’s stories I wanted to read just a little more but as I couldn’t get any more from Austen I decided to try a book that was a continuation of Pride & Prejudice. I had gotten Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride years ago for Christmas from my parents. It has been awhile since I read the book. I was happy to read this book again because it is really well written and a great sequel to a book I love so much.

The book is simply a continuation of the story Pride & Prejudice. Helen Halstead writes about the lives of Elizabeth and Darcy. She also writes about the family and friends that know Elizabeth and Darcy, along with some new friends they make in their come out as husband and wife.

I liked how Halstead wrote the continuation because it really showed how the characters lives had altered into a new way of living. I loved how Elizabeth felt overwhelmed but because of her charm she was able to glide through society, though it was still a struggle. She had to make sure not to embarrass her husband and to make sure they don’t lose their love for each other. It was interesting that Halstead gave each character a chance to have their own thoughts told on the page. You were really able to get to know the characters from Halstead’s words.

There was definitely some sad news that I didn’t like towards the end but you knew it would happen. Though I think Halstead brings it together to give you that happy ending which many have dreamed for Elizabeth and Darcy.

Well that is it for me with reading stories all related towards Austen, at least for now. I am sure I will come up with some more adaptations or inspired Jane Austen stories through my search of other authors to read.

2 thoughts on “Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride

  1. Gayle, I’ve enjoyed your reviews of Jane’s work. I have two books to highly recommend to you. Jennifer Becton’s “Charlotte Collins” and the other is “Caroline Bingley”. these are my favorites of all the P&P take-offs.

Leave a Reply

