Lady Susan

lady-susanI had only just recently heard about the short story of Lady Susan and the reason I heard about it was because my cousin had seen the movie Love & Friendship, which is Lady Susan in movie form. Well, needless to say when I heard about this story I immediately went to Amazon and found that it was free but I waited to read it until I was done with all of Jane Austen’s novels.

So, this book is about a woman, Lady Susan, who is going through town and finding mischief along the way.

I really liked this short story. It flowed really well once I got into the writing. What was different about this story was the format. The story was written in letter form. This kept my interest as I kept wanting to read what was happening with Lady Susan and what she was doing around town. Lady Susan’s character was an interesting character. She was more of a villain type than all other heroines in Austen. She was very much all about herself and her needs. Those needs did not extend to her daughter. I got the distinct impression that she didn’t really care for her daughter. Based on how she treated her daughter, she would certainly never earn any mother of the year rewards. What also made her different from other Jane Austen female leads was that she was the one pursuing the man but the man was younger and of course wealthy.

What bugged me about the story was that there was no inner thoughts from these characters. I wanted to know what Lady Susan thought or her daughter. I wanted more of a background of these characters. Though I suppose that would come if this story was longer and in a different format. This didn’t bug me to the point of not wanting to read the story but it made me wonder.

Well, I have finished with reading Jane Austen.  I have a couple other books related to the story of Pride & Prejudice that I am thinking about reading.

Leave a Reply

