Persuasion

persuassionPersuasion is the one novel that I was not really anticipating to read from Jane Austen.

The book is about a young woman Anne Elliot who had broken off an engagement to a poor officer. Now eight years later that poor officer, Captain Wentworth, is wealthy. Anne regrets letting her family persuade her but she has to live with her consequence.

So, years ago I had tried to watch the movie and it just bore me to death. Although, I have to remember I was ten years old and any movie that wasn’t animated or comical would not hold my attention. Now, before I read the book I decided to watch the movie which was made in 2007 and all I can say was, I was captivated. There was no time in the movie I wanted to fast forward. Sure I wanted to shout at Anne to do what she wanted. To marry the man that she wanted. The ending had me smiling but I had wondered if that ending would ever happen.

After I watched the movie I was very much looking forward to reading the story. I really liked the story but saying that I wonder if I would have liked it if I didn’t watch the movie. By watching the movie before reading the story I was able to follow along when the writing got a little long in certain parts.

I will say that one thing which bugged me was how Anne’s character just did whatever her family had said or requested. Anne was always in the background but no one really noticed her. I wanted Anne to break free of that hold they had on her. Also, her family was just horrible to Anne, but Anne didn’t stop their behavior. Although there was someone, which was Captain Wentworth. I liked that even though he had been hurt by Anne there was still a good man underneath all the hurt. He helped Anne out because he was a kind man which I loved about him.  What kept me interested in the story was the interaction of Wentworth and Anne. There were both unhappy yet content to live their lives with how they were living. Though they will get it right, it just takes losing each other again to make them realize how they still feel.

I am reading my last Jane Austen novel, Lady Susan, next.

Leave a Reply

