Sense and Sensibility

sense-and-sensibilitySense and Sensibility is my second favorite story when it comes to Jane Austen’s story. Although this is only based on the movies, as in the past I have only read Pride and Prejudice. Based on the novels I have read from Austen I would rank them from favorite to least: Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, and Mansfield Park.

So, this book is about a family who will suffer a loss in the family that will have them moving to a new home and trying to make the best of their situation, and how life has drastically changed for them.

I really liked this book. I thought that it flowed well and it pulled me into the story very quickly, which was unlike some of the other novels.

For me this story was all about the characters. The sisters were very entertaining. The way they were written and how they interacted I had no trouble believing they were sisters. I think that Marianne was a little too dramatic but she was still a teenager and was a hopeless romantic. She learns about the heartbreak of love but I liked that she learned from it and grew from the experience. Elinor was the levelheaded sister, who need to find that love to let loose a little. Although I liked that Elinor stayed true to her character and because of this love will find its way to her. The youngest sister Margaret is the adventurer but really for me she was overlooked in the book because a lot of the book does revolve around Elinor and Marianne’s love life and the trials they have to face when dealing with love.

Now, I have been going back and fourth about which novel I want to read next. I am choosing between Persuasion or Northanger Abbey. I think I will be going towards Northanger Abbey as I was intrigued by this story as I had seen a play and the movie not too long ago.

One thought on “Sense and Sensibility

  1. You are inspiring me to read these. I think I even have them all in the cloud of my Kindle Paperwhite. Thanks for the review and the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

