Hard to Serve

Hard to ServeKyler Vance needed control in his life. He took that control and when he couldn’t he would visit the club he partially owned which would give him relief. Kyler liked his subs for one night and he moved on, but when he meets Mia he knows that one night is not going to be enough.

Mia Breslin wanted a dom to dominate her and she hoped this latest club would find her that someone. She will be thrilled when she meets Kyler but will quickly figure out that he will be wary of relationships. Mia knows she should walk away but can’t.

Hard to Serve is a novella in the series Hard Ink by Laura Kaye. When I heard the series was continuing with Kyler I was intrigued and definitely wanted to read the book. When I got it I didn’t even bother looking at the summary, I was just excited that Hard Ink series was continuing. So, basically when I started the book I was intrigued. This is in the realm of BSMD and as I am not really a fan of that I was thinking about putting it down but I am a fan of Laura Kaye. So, I decided to give the novella a chance and I am glad I did. I really liked the story. Yes it was a lot of sex and domination but it was an interesting look inside that world. Laura Kaye writes about the interactions between the dom and sub before they “play” together. It was interesting as you got to understand more of the rules that come with the territory. Not all stories that I have read do that so I thought that was interesting.

The character Kyler was a controlling man who did not do relationships but liked things in order. I liked Kyler from the first time he was introduced. Although getting to know him in this book he was a much darker character than I had thought. Though with his need of that lifestyle it would make sense. The character Mia knew what she wanted but it was hard to get for her. I liked that Mia tried and felt free to express what she needed, and that she was smart about it.

From how Laura Kaye wrote this novella it is clear that she is going to be writing more on this club especially with twelve “Masters” who bought the club. From how this novella was written I am definitely intrigued on the rest of the stories that Laura Kaye will be writing.

Leave a Reply

