A Winter Wedding

A Winter WeddingKyle Houseman was constantly on guard from his ex wife who would not leave him alone. His solution was to just give her money to make her stop harassing him. That will soon stop when he meets a woman who shows him that it was possible to move on from the only woman he had loved.

Lourdes Bennett had come to Whiskey Creek for one reason which was to write her songs for her next album. The problem was that Lourdes was heartbroken and writing was not coming easy for her, then she meets Kyle and things will change.

A Winter Wedding is the ninth book in the series Whiskey Creek by Brenda Novak. I really liked this book. I liked that it was about two characters who had their heart broken and both needed to be mended. This was not a book where the characters jumped right into bed which I appreciated because you got to know them first, and the fact that they had become friends was very sweet. They helped balance things out in each others lives.

Lourdes character was one that I easily liked. She was a small town girl trying to make a career for herself and she was not a diva. She was a down to earth character and at this point she was pretty vulnerable but she had a strength inside. That strength was helped by Kyle. So Kyle’s character was I thought of a push over. Now don’t get me wrong he was a strong guy but when it came to his ex he just gave in. Before I read this book I had read When We Touch which was when Kyle cheated on Olivia with her sister, who had become his wife. Kyle was always doing the right thing. I liked that finally in this book he was getting more of a backbone when it came to his ex wife. He was living again especially with Lourdes in the picture. There was one part in the book that had me cheering because Kyle finally gets some justice with all that had happened to him because of his ex wife.

Noelle, Kyle’s ex wife, was a piece of work. Basically from the entire series she had been nothing but trouble. In this book it was like she went crazy. She will do a lot of harm to those around her and personally I was happy with her ending. There was one thing that bugged me with how Olivia forgave Noelle especially since she had stolen Kyle, but I guess that was how Olivia operated and it had been five years.

I have one more book left to read in my pile for Brenda Novak which will be the tenth book, Discovering You, and I am reading that one next.

Leave a Reply

