This Heart of Mine

This Heart of MinePhoenix Fuller had been in prison for seventeen years serving sentence on murder, a murder she never committed. She is back home to help her mother and get to know her son. 

Riley Stinson had raised his son at the age of eighteen. He was not looking forward to the mother of his child coming home but he had no way of stopping that interaction.

This Heart of Mine is the eighth book in the series Whiskey Creek by Brenda Novak, which was a good addition to the story.

I thought that the story was entertaining but not my favorite and really it was because of the situation. I found it very annoying that Riley who had loved Phoenix dropped her because of his family and then believed her guilty, but now seventeen years later he was thinking he could have been wrong. He was at first hesitant of her but then his feelings started coming back. I think I wanted Riley to make an effect before then. Now when he is being the parent to Jacob he was a great dad. They seem more like best friends which would make sense since he had been eighteen when Jacob was born. So then there is Phoenix who was ready to forgive, but in a way she is not. She doesn’t want to start anything up with Riley, all she wants is a relationship with her son and to start her business. I liked that she wasn’t begging Riley for another chance. She was a resilient character who would endure anything to make sure she had a chance with her son after all these years. The one thing that I could not quite believe was that she would forgive so easily when it came to Riley. It kind of bugged that she was able to. In a way I wanted her to be with someone else in the story. Now don’t get me wrong I do like my happy ending but at times it just didn’t feel right.

Jacob’s character I really loved. He was a kid who was hesitant to accept his mother but he gave her a chance no matter what others were telling him.

I found the book had a sense of injustice in the end. Well there was justice but I wanted more especially with the two families and how they had treated Phoenix.

I am reading the ninth book next.

Leave a Reply

