Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes

Twenty-Eight and a Half WishesRose Gardner worked at the DMV in her hometown which found her an odd ball. It was not the way that she dressed but because she had visions. One morning at the DMV Rose will see a man and suddenly a vision will come to her which will show her death. Rose will be frantic especially when her world starts to spin apart with several murders and secrets being uncovered.

Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes is the first book to the series Rose Gardner Mystery by Denise Grover Swank. I liked this book. It was a free book on amazon. I had to get it since I had really loved the Wedding Pact series. This book was strange but with how Denise Grover Swank writes you are drawn in. Granted there was a couple situations that were very predictable but it didn’t stop me from enjoying the book.

Rose’s character was considered odd because she had visions. I liked that about Rose because that made her different, unique. I liked Rose also because she was naive and sheltered which meant she was eager to experience life. She went for it when creating the list. What I didn’t always like was that she was too naive especially when it came to her new neighbor Joe. She does get smart and starts to ask questions but she is not that assertive when it comes to walking away.

There was some secrets that are uncovered which explain a lot of the animosity that was between Rose and her mother. One character that drove me crazy was Joe. He was a predictable character and one that made me what to slap him. He was a good guy, then a annoying guy, and finally kind of villain like towards Rose. I looked ahead in the series and Joe sounds like he is going to be disappointing.

So I am torn. I want to read more but I don’t always like series that is written around one character. I am also not a lover of love triangles that are more than three books. The love triangle gets boring and I just want the character to make a decision, which is why I like them in romances because when the book ends its usually finished. At least this series is done. Of course that didn’t stop the author from continuing with Rose, just in another series. I will see if I’ll continue on in the series.

Leave a Reply

