The Bollywood Bride

The Bollywood BrideRia Parkar was known as the Ice Princess. Ria had made herself distant from everyone else but now she was coming home for her cousins wedding. She wanted to be there but that meant she would see Vikram, the boy whose heart she had broken.

Vikram Jathar had loved Ria but then she had betrayed him. When Vikram sees Ria he will be angry as all those feelings come back to the surface. He will try to keep his distance but it will be a losing battle.

The Bollywood Bride is the second book to the series Bollywood by Sonali Dev. Like the first, I loved this book. Sonali Dev really integrates the culture and traditions well throughout the book. I wanted to find out all that was hidden in the past and to find out the real reasons why the characters were a shell of themselves.

Ria’s character was a young woman who had gone through a big trauma at a young age. You don’t know everything until later one. At first I thought Ria truly was an ice princess from how she handled things ten years ago, but I had a feeling she was not that cruel. Ria’s true self is discovered and your heart breaks for her as she is just a shell of herself. Vikram’s character was intentionally cruel to Ria and its because he felt betrayed. There is logic to that but I wanted him to at least move on and make a fresh start. I get my wish but the future is complicated for these two characters that is until everything gets out onto the table and they take a chance.

I really wanted something to be done about Vikram’s mother but I guess that would have put too much strain on the characters. I liked that he was standing up to her and taking a chance with Ria once again.

So Sonali Dev third book has come out in September and I will be reading that next but I am hesitant. It is with Nic and Jen who were in this book and are the ones that are getting married. It seems in the next book a tragedy will happen that break up the couple forever. Well I will find out more as I read the book next.

Leave a Reply

