A Bollywood Affair

A Bollywood AffairMili Rathod was married to her groom when she was four years old. Mili has waited twenty years for her groom to claim her but she only waited. Mili will take a chance and to further her education by going to the United States. She will meet a man Samir and will start to feel things for him. She knows it is wrong since she is married but her heart was bonding towards Samir. Though Mili will find out that everything is not as it seems.

Samir Rathod was a big time director but that was not his concern at the moment. His concern was to make sure the wedding of his older brother never took place. Samir will meet Mili and instead of telling her what he wanted, he will lie to Mili and befriend her. Before Samir knows it he will start falling for this woman and Samir will have to figure out how to tell her everything before she finds out the truth.

A Bollywood Affair is the first book to the series Bollywood by Sonali Dev. I loved this book. You are immersed into the culture and life of these characters. The characters felt real thanks to Sonali Dev’s storytelling. I could not put this book down.

Mili was a young woman who lived her cultures tradition. I liked that she was so devoted on her tradition but I thought she was a little naive. Though I was happy to read that she did want more especially as her husband was dragging his feet to claim her. Mili was also unbelievably kind and sweet to everyone which gets her into trouble because she happenes to trust the wrong man. Though I was happy that she showed a backbone but it was at a heartbreaking scene. Samir or Sam was a good man but he didn’t always handle things the best way. Like how he was lying to Mili about who he really was. I wanted him to come clean right away as I knew that would be a defining moment in the book. Though it was interesting to read how Samir was falling in love. He was trying to stop it from happening but it was something he could not stop.

The downfall is obviously when Mili will find out the truth and Sonali Dev does a good job at writing the scene. The emotions that were skillfully written, I felt all the emotions as I read the book.

I am looking forward to reading the second book to the series which I am reading next.

One thought on “A Bollywood Affair

  1. I loved this book and the next one but the third I really didn’t like. I’ll be looking forward to hearing about your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

