Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildWhen I heard that Harry Potter was being continued I was hesitant to buy the book. I had loved Harry Potter and I really didn’t want more because I was satisfied with what I had. But as an avid reader of Harry Potter I had to read the book, the curiosity was driving me crazy. So I was given Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and let me say that I actually liked it. There were some issues I had with it but overall I thought it was really good. What threw me was the format. When I had gotten the book it didn’t occur to me it would be in play form, I guess I was just not thinking. Well once I got over that bit of news I went straight to reading the story.

The story starts right off where the seventh book ends which is nineteen years later. Harry and his friends are at the train station and they are dropping off their children to go to Hogwarts. Albus (Harry and Ginny’s child) will be the main character along with Scorpious (Draco’s child) and it will be telling their story once they are at Hogwarts. I wouldn’t go into great detail so not to spoil it. All I will say is those boys will be changing a lot of things and there will be consequences.

Now there are some out there that didn’t like the book and that’s fine as we all have our own opinions and likes and dislikes. This book is not like the other books because it is not a book but a play. It is written in dialogue and scene direction so there are no places for the characters thoughts, but honestly it didn’t bother me. I thought that the characters stayed true to who they were in the books. I also liked that you got to know more about what was happening in the characters life, where they ended up in life. And of course there were some good twist that were very entertaining to read.

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. I would love to see this performed on the stage.

Leave a Reply

