Suddenly One Summer

Suddenly One SummerVictoria Slade is trying to find Mr. Right but so far things haven’t been going right especially when she has a break-in. Victoria will have to move which is where she will meet Ford. She will instantly think him a player but as they work together she will find that was not the case.

Ford Dixon is trying to help his sister find out the guy she had slept with and he will get help from a neighbor. He will want the neighbor immediately but will find her difficult. Ford will do what he can to win over Victoria and help his sister.

Suddenly One Summer is a novel by Julie James. This is not part of a series but it does have characters from the series FBI/US Attorney. I thought this was a good book to read.

I haven’t read anything from James for a while but I will say that she is a good storyteller. I kind of wish she embellished on the scene with the break-in that happened in the beginning. I liked where that was going, though how she created Victoria to have a panic disorder after that felt very real which I liked. Someone who goes through a break-in would not go unaffected. I liked Victoria’s character, she was a little hard but being a divorce lawyer probably made her more jaded. Though I did like that she was able to help out Ford’s sister. Ford’s character was the laid back kind of guy and kind of a player but not a serious one. I wanted Ford to break down the barriers and really get to know Victoria which he will, it just takes a while.

I thought the part with the sister was sweet and I was glad that everything worked out for the best.

Leave a Reply

