Dare to Rock

Dare to RockGrey Kingston had wanted fame and fortune and he got that but now he wanted more. He wanted the girl he had left behind. Grey knew that he had to prove to Avery that they could make it which was hard when his manager and a stalker were making trouble for them.

Avery Dare had loved Grey since high school but knew that she never wanted his lifestyle. With Grey back she has hope but she will be hesitant to trust him. Though Avery will have more to deal with especially when reporters are bringing up her father’s past.

Dare to Rock is the fifth book to Dare to Love series by Carly Phillips. I really loved this book.

Avery’s character was fantastic. She is a bubbly and confident woman when she does her job but on the inside she is still scared and a girl who has panic attacks. I thought how her attacks started was so sad and I hated that it was coming back because of the reporters. Though Avery is strong and she will get through the trouble. Grey’s character was not the cliche rocker which I liked. He cared about his work and wanted what was best for his band mates. I liked that Grey had to work hard to win back Avery.

The problem that occurs are the threats that Avery receives because of some crazy fan of Grey’s. The woman is psychotic and it shows in her behavior. I thought that James gives a good twist on how this woman was so successful with her threats.

Spoiler Alert: I have made mention that I really disliked the father and the way he doesn’t inquire about Avery especially when she is threatened really pissed me off. He tells her that he is annoyed that because of her antics his past is coming back out. Though Avery will finally get through to her father. She gives him a speech that I was hoping one of the kids would give, that let him know how hurtful he has been to them. From how the father was acting towards the end I think there is a chance he will be there for all of his kids.

I am taking a very quick break for the next book but will be back. I will also be reading about the New York Dare’s in the series NY Dare to Love.

Leave a Reply

