Cinder

CinderCinder is the first book to the series Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. This is a young adult series that I had heard about from a librarian. I had actually seen the cover when it first came out but I brushed it off because I don’t read a lot of young adult and it was dealing with cyborgs. I don’t read a lot of science fiction as it doesn’t really interest me but I was encouraged to try the book, so I gave it a shot, and I am glad that I did. I liked this novel. It was an adaptation of Cinderella but it was created in this fantasy type world. I will admit that at times I felt it was a little long but I got over those moments and continued to enjoy the book.

So the story Cinder is basically about this teenage girl who is a ward of this mother and her two daughters. Cinder is not just human but part cyborg. She does not remember her past but know that her parents had been killed and she survived a horrific accident. To make a living Cinder is a mechanic which is where she will meet Prince Kai. Though this is not a fairy tale where they immediately fall in love. This is a time of war and disease that is destroying the people.

I liked Cinder’s character. She was an interesting character being a cyborg and the mystery about her life beforehand intrigued me. I also liked Prince Kai and thought at times he could make a decision faster but then remembered he had all his people to think about, not just his feelings. The other main character is Queen Levana who is pure evil when it comes to getting what she wants.

There is a lot to this book and yes it can be predictable but I felt that Meyer’s wrote the story well. She leaves the book at a cliffhanger which I don’t really like. Its because I have to usually wait forever to read what happens next. Well I guess I was thinking ahead because I made sure to check out the rest of the series. I will be reading Scarlet next.

Leave a Reply

