The Shadows

The ShadowsTrez was destined to be mated with the Queens daughter thanks to his parents selling him to the Queen when he was a baby. Though Trez has no desire to be with the daughter especially when he has found a woman to love.

The Shadows is the thirteenth book to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. I liked this novel but I will say that it took a little time to get into the story. One reason, and it is a reason that happens most times I read from this series, its the length of the book. I know that I should be used to the size as every book in the series is close to five hundred pages or over. Another fact is sometimes the detail. It can get a little too much, though that comes back to the size of the novel. Now don’t get me wrong I really do like the series, it can just get overwhelming with all the stories that are happening in the book.

So within this story the primary characters were Trez and his brother iAm. Although the rest of the brotherhood played a big part of the book, along with some of the enemies. Each of them have their own part in this story but it is all related to each other. I found that in the past couple books when the shadows were written in I wasn’t really all in to it. I liked just reading about the brotherhood and their enemies. I liked these shadows but I still prefer the brotherhood.

I liked Trez’s story, though it was hard to get to the end as you knew there would be a tragedy at the end. But because of that ending a happy ending occurred for another. I just hope that Ward will make sure those who sacrificed their happiness gets their own happy ending in another book.

I will follow up on the fourteenth book later on but I am switching to the spin off series Black Dagger Legacy. I will be reading Blood Kiss next.

Leave a Reply

