Saint Anything

Saint AnythingSydney, and her family, were dealing with the aftermath of Peyton, her brothers, mistake which destroys a life. Sydney knows that she has to play the perfect daughter, to fade into the background but she will then meet the Chatham family who really sees her.

Saint Anything is a novel by Sarah Dessen. I really loved this book. I have not read anything from Dessen for about five years. Its not that I don’t like her writing because I do. I thought Lock & Key was amazing. I think that Dessen is a wonderful storyteller. I think why I didn’t go rushing back to the author is the fact it is for young adults. Though why I should go back is because she gets you with the emotional turmoil that she writes well. Its not just teen angst, its deeper and you feel what those characters are feeling, and I felt for the character of Sydney. Though this was not doom and gloom, it was a journey she takes to rediscovery and Dessen did it right.

So the character of Sydney I loved. She was a daughter who was loved but she was almost pushed to the side. The parents only concentrated on their troubled son and didn’t see the daughter who needed them. They will get it together but it takes a lot for them to truly understand. I was happy the parents got their act together before something very bad happened to Sydney. I liked that Sydney started to live life for herself which was thanks to the Chatham family. This family I loved. They were dysfunctional but worked in the best ways. There were three characters of the family that stood out which was Mrs. Chatham, Mac, and Layla. The mom was courageous with all that she had to go through. Layla was kind and a vibrant young woman who made Sydney believe she could be more. Then there was Mac who was definitely the love interest. I liked that it was innocent and not a heartbreaking love, but a hopeful one.

Then there was the ending which was predictable, though I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

