Unlaced

UnlacedLucy Abbington did not want a season but to appease her father she went. Lucy though has no desire to wed as she knows that her husband would demand she stop her healing animals. She will be tempted to give up everything to be with one man.

Henry, Lord Mandeville, did not want to marry especially anyone his mother wanted him to marry. Henry would marry but only a woman who would elevate his position in parliament. When Henry meets Lucy he will immediately want her but knows he can’t marry her.

Unlaced is the first book to a series. I am not sure what the name of the series is called as there are two names for this book series. One is Undone by Love and the other is Ashton/Rosemoor. Well never mind about the title of the series I loved this book. The book left me smiling. I had read the second book five years ago. I had loved the second book but getting Kristina Cook’s books were hard to do from my library. So I gave up and moved on to another series by another author. Well I am back with Kristina Cook and I have more books of hers to read.

I loved Lucy’s character. She was a fun character who had a backbone and a drive to do what she loved, which was to heal animals. She had a passion for medicine but because of her gender getting a degree was impossible. I liked that she wasn’t like the other woman who wanted Henry for his title. She didn’t want him but she will be tempted because of the man and of course lust. So Henry’s character  was a love/hate one for me. I liked Henry for his drive to be better but he was too critical and power hunger. Not exactly like his mother but he was trying to marry a woman who would elevate his position in society. Though when you get to know his character more you will fall in love with Henry, its another side of Henry that was gentler. Now with him there are plenty of things that he does wrong, especially when it comes to Lucy. I will say that he does redeem himself in the end.

Now there were some villains in this book. Mostly they are “the mean girls” who are too stuck up. Well one person that I thought was the worst was Henry’s mother. She was a vile woman who was power hunger and was not a kind woman to her son.

I am re-reading Unveiled and then on to the third book Undressed.

Leave a Reply

