Shades of the Past

Shades of the PastMrs. Vanessa Wynters was a companion to an elderly woman who had a love of photography and travel which was shared with Vanessa. She will be devastated when this woman dies. Vanessa knows that she will have to leave once the funeral is over but she will find herself with a new opportunity. Though danger will not be far from Vanessa and the family she was staying with.

Viscount Adrian Marrable had lost two wives and swore that he would never fall in love again. Adrian will find love with Vanessa but before he could he had to find out if his wife was truly dead and where were the rest of the family’s jewels which disappeared that night.

Shades of the Past is a novel by Kathleen Kirkwood. Really loved reading this book, it was one that I could not put down. After reading my first and only book from Kathleen Kirkwood I figured I would try another of her books but she really hasn’t written too many. I had found this book as a free book at amazon awhile ago and I quickly snatched it up. Now although it was initially the author that pulled me to get the book it was the title that intrigued me. I liked the sound of the title and it worked well with the book especially as it dealt with some paranormal aspects, mainly ghost within the story.

So with this book there are plenty of things that will happen and mostly there are twists, and there are several big ones that change everything you thought about some of the characters. I wouldn’t go into detail because I don’t want to ruin the surprise. Though I will say that Kirkwood really weaved a well balance story and incorporated the twists really well into the plot.

After saying that I thought about what else to write because I really don’t want to spoil any surprise. So instead of saying anything about the characters I will say that Kirkwoods description was really well done. She wrote about Vanessa’s work with the photography which I actually found interesting and informative. It might have seemed that Kirkwood didn’t need to put all that time in description of photography but it is a big part of the story.

Leave a Reply

