The Sandman Series

The Sandman Volume 1So I haven’t posted anything for a while now because I have been on the task to read an entire graphic novel collection, which has 12 volumes, and these are not small comics. The majority of the volumes are 200 hundred pages worth. The graphic novel series I decided to try was the Sandman. This series had been recommended to me awhile ago and I had decided now was the time to try it out. I was told specifically to start at the beginning of the series with volume one, The Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes. This series is written by Neil Gaiman.

Well the story is basically about this man who wants immortality and decides to imprison Death. Though something went wrong and they captured Death’s brother. Dream was captured for a human’s lifespan but then will find a way to get out of the prison. Now that was just the first volume. Things will continue with the character Dream and Death. There were will many stories that will interconnect and many of them are definitely weird.

Alright first thought about the graphic novel series was that I liked but it did not start out like that. I will say the beginning I felt lost and confused with the story. I was like that with the other book that I read from Gaiman which was Stardust. I had liked the book, but I liked the movie better, though it definitely was strange. He is not an author I would run to read but every now and then try I would try another book. Well back to the graphic novel, so I was able to get into the stories and follow along through all the dialogue, and there were some stories that I really liked. Some stories were more on the gruesome side which surprised me.

I found that with reading the graphic novel series the illustrations reminded me of the old comics which I read when I was a kid, and that made sense as the majority of the stories were published in the 90’s.

So overall I thought that the Sandman series was worth reading and Neil Gaiman created a strong fantasy world where many strange things happened.

Leave a Reply

