Lover at Last

Lover at LastQhuinn had thought he always wanted a female to mate with and to have a young, but it was difficult when he had feelings for his best friend. His feelings were getting more powerful especially when he realized that those feelings had turned to love. Qhuinn was going to take a chance and show Blay how he truly felt.

Lover at Last is the eleventh book to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. So I liked the book because it was with Blay and Qhuinn and their struggle with being together. What I found distracting was all the other stories that were being told. This is nothing new to the series but there are times I wish that the the books were a little more focused in on one story per book. I wanted more with Blay and Qhuinn especially as the last several books had been leading up to this moment. Though the book was good.

I liked Qhuinn’s character. He was a good warrior but he couldn’t win the inner struggle that he had inside him. Qhuinn loved Blay but it was too late as Blay found someone to be with. Though we know that Ward wouldn’t let that happen especially as Blay truly loved Qhuinn and only him. Now Blay’s character was always quiet and steady. He loved Qhuinn for many years and your heart broke for him. I was okay with Saxton being with Blay because I knew that it would not be forever. Blay becomes a little cold in the book but it was understandable as he was trying to distance himself from Qhuinn. So the whole distancing from each other will not work obviously which will bring a happy ending. This was an ending I really liked. It was sweet and a little corny but I couldn’t help but like it.

Alright so one of the stories in the book that I didn’t mind was when Layala was around and how her pregnancy was progressing and the problems that occurred. I wanted everything to be right with Layala and not so she and Qhuinn could have a happy ending together, because that wasn’t going to happen, but so she can have someone to truly love. Though with how the story is going with Layala I am guessing that she wouldn’t be alone, there will be another in her life and that will not be with Qhuinn. At least that is a guess with the direction Ward seems to be going towards.

I am reading the twelfth book next.

2 thoughts on “Lover at Last

  1. Kar says:

    I love The King, enjoy and I look forward to reading your feedback.

Leave a Reply

