Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?

Cant we talk about something more pleasantMy book club has read many types of books that have either made me cry, laugh, be frustrated and dislike the novel to loving the novel. The women who run the club decided to try a graphic comic. Alright so I have read comics before when I was a kid but that had been about fifteen years ago since the last comic I read. I actually think it was about Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? is by Roz Chast who illustrates comics but this one was about her parents and her life. I thought the illustrations were really well done and I loved that she put in several pictures that she had taken of her parents house and included them into the story. I was very entertained with the book. It was crazy, silly, serious and it felt real. There were plenty of moments that I cringed at but I could see happening.

In the beginning of the story there were plenty of laugh out loud moments. It had been a while since I really laughed out loud when reading a story. Though towards the middle of the story the mood changed. When that happened I was reminded of my grandparents. I will say that I did get a little teary towards the end of the story.

I thought that this book was a great intro back into comics and I am excited to try some more graphic novels. The women who run the book club gave us a list of other graphic novels that were like this one but I think I will go with a different topic, maybe something scary.

2 thoughts on “Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?

  1. I’ve only read one graphic novel (Outlander) and didn’t like it all that well. This one sounds much more to my liking.

Leave a Reply

