Darling Beast

Darling BeastApollo Greaves, Viscount Kilbourne, has been convicted of murdering three of his friends four years ago. With the help of his now brother-in-law he escaped but he was still not free to take his place in society. He will have to find the murderer and will be helped by some unexpected allies. Though he will be distracted when an actress, Lily, captured his attention.

Lily Stump was a famous actress and playwright even though no one knew that fact. Lily, her son and a servant named Maude were temporarily living at Harte’s Folly while it was being restored. There will be one problem that happens which is finding a mute man in the gardens who is not who she thinks.

Darling Beast is the seventh book to the Maiden Lane series by Elizabeth Hoyt. I had bought this book awhile ago but had not gotten the chance to read the book until now. Usually the books I buy take a while to read because I am always checking out books from my library. Well I picked it up now because I also have the eighth book from the series. Alright so Darling Beast was a book that I really liked.

I was excited to read Apollo’s story because of his sister Artemis. I had really liked her character in the sixth book and her interaction with her brother. I wanted to know what had happened three years ago as you knew that Apollo was not the murderer. It was interesting with Apollo as he could not talk, he only could write down his words. I felt for the first half of the book there was a gentler side to Apollo especially as he interacted with Lily’s child. There is a dangerous side to Apollo but only when he is protecting those he loves. Now Lily is a confident actress who knows what she has to do in life. She protects those that she loves. When she interacts with Apollo I really liked them together especially when it started out with him just being a gardener. That let Lily really get to know the man and not the title or the scandal that was part of his life.

The mystery of the murderer was prevalent in the book as that was a major part of the plot. The question of who was the real murderer had stumped me, which I liked. I waiting for the big reveal. There is another little surprise that is with Lily and her past. I knew the mystery but only a small part of it.

I found that Hoyt was writing in some recurring names and new names that I know will most likely be given their own story. I figure that Miss Royal will have her own story and possibly Duke Montgomery who is an intriguing character.

I am excited to read the eighth book next which is with Phoebe, the sister of Duke Wakefield.

Leave a Reply

