Highlander for the Holidays

highlander for the holidaysJessie Pringle had survived a brutal attack and came out of the attack with scars on the outside of her body and inside. Jessie moved to Maine to start a new life where she was not the victim. She will meet a man, Ian MacKeage, who attracts her and has her taking the next step. Though before she starts a new life there are questions that Jessie will start to ask about her tragic night as her memory lapse started to clear up.

Highlander for the Holidays is the eighth book to the series Pine Creek Highlanders series by Janet Chapman. I really liked this book which has finished up the series. I thought there was a little more mystery to the book especially with the tragic past which Jessie survived.

Jessie’s character intrigued me when I found out that she had a rescue dog. I wanted to know what had happened and why the dog was there to help her. I also wanted to make sure that she found her happiness with Ian with her going through so much and for her find out what really happened that night. Now Ian’s character I was confused for just a moment. For one moment thought he was the original Ian that was introduced in the first book. Well obviously that didn’t make sense as he would be an older man. This Ian was the son of Sadie and Morgan which is written into the story. I really liked Ian. He was a little laid back but very protective of Jessie especially when he finds out about her past. I liked that Ian was like his father and telling Jessie that scars did not matter. His kindness will have you cheering for him and Jessie to be happy.

The villain I had to say was predictable for me. I only guessed one person and I was right. There were many clues about the person that had murdered Jessie’s husband and had injured Jessie in the process.

I thought that Chapman gave a great ending for Jessie and Ian that followed well for Pine Creek Highlanders series.

Leave a Reply

