The Devil’s Waltz

The Devil's WaltzChristian Montcalm’s plan was to seduce an heiress and wed her. There was one problem that stood in his way which was Miss Annelise Kempton who tempted him like no other.

Annelise Kempton was not going to let her charge get seduced by Christian Montcalm. Though she did not expect him to turn the tables on her and try to seduce her as well.

The Devil’s Waltz is a novel by Anne Stuart which was one that I loved reading.

I loved Annelise’s character. She was a strong woman who had suffered loss but fought to keep going. I wanted her to find happiness in the arms of Christian but I also wanted her to hit him. He was a character that walked the line of villain and hero easily and Stuart writes those characters well. There are redeemable characteristics of Christian they are just buried deep. So really for a lot of the book I wanted to smack his head as well.

There were things I loved about this book and then there were things that got me annoyed. What annoyed me was Hetty. She was an annoying girl personally for me. She was too spoiled and headstrong, and didn’t think before she spoke. I didn’t want her to be with Christian as I wanted Annelise to be with him. I liked how Stuart wrote the scene that got me what I wanted. Though there were still problems that come from the book which prolonged that happy ending.

Now as I said Christian was like a villain but there were many in the book which could be thought of as a villain. The main one is like a wolf in sheep’s clothing.

As the book concludes I was happy with how Anne Stuart left Christian and Annelise with the epilogue especially with all the cruelty which surrounded the book.

Leave a Reply

