Tempt the Devil

tempt the devilOlivia Raines is the most sought after courtesan in London. She chooses her partners carefully and leaves them when she is done with them. Lately she will be bored but when she meets Julian Southwood there is something that intrigues her and knows he will be her next protector.

Julian Southwood, Earl of Erith, was searching for his next mistress and will find her when he spots her in a crowd. He will want Olivia Raines from the moment he saw her and will get her, his need to possess her will be great. He will be able to capture his prey but will find out that there is more to Olivia than just a notorious courtesan.

Tempt the Devil is a novel by Anna Campbell. I have only read one other book from this author and remember loving it. This book is very much the same with my feelings, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I could not put it down, even though I had to since I had to work, but it was a struggle. So when I did finish the book I was cheering and wanting to read more from Anna Campbell who is becoming an author that I will be on the look out for more of her books.

This book held some mystery of what Olivia was hiding in her past. I knew it would be tragic as you clearly understood that what Olivia did was something she did not enjoy. You get to hear what had happened to her when Olivia finally lets in Julian. Now Julian was kind of like a villain with his demanding ways but he changed, not to a perfect gentleman but more gentle, mostly due to finding out certain facts of Olivia. I liked that he changed some as he became a better fit for Olivia.

The romance between them is not exactly a happy one. They were in a situation that was where the male was usually the one in charge but with Olivia she made sure her suitors understood their place. That is of course not the case as Julian likes to be the only one in charge. That will create many problems but leads them to grow and learn to trust each other as things are shared. Though it is not that easy. They don’t just learn to love and live happily ever after. There will be problems but with how Campbell wrote the ending it was worth going through the trouble to get that happy ending.

I have one other book from Anna Campbell which I will be reading next.

3 thoughts on “Tempt the Devil

  1. I have read several of Anna Campbell’s books but not this one. I will have to add it to my list. I’ve enjoyed her writing and still have one or two books languishing on my TBR pile. I’ll have to get at them soon.

Leave a Reply

