Practical Magic

practical magicFor two hundred years the Owens women have been talked about and their unusual powers that are part of them. It had been said that any Owens woman who falls in love will only be with that man until he meets an untimely death. It will take Gillian and Sally to break the spell that had been with their family for two hundred years.

Practical Magic is a novel by Alice Hoffman. It surprised me that I had not reviewed this book before. I have read this book many times and have loved it since the first time I read it. I have liked stories with witches since I was little which has lead me to enjoy paranormal romances.

Sally and Gillian are sisters and enemies at times which I find it true to a lot of siblings. I know at times that was how it went with mine. Well I never thought of my younger brother as an enemy but he knew how to push my buttons and I did the same to him. There were times in the book that I didn’t like Gillian but underneath it all she is a good woman and good sister. Sally was always the good sister, anyone could see that, but there were times when she was a little controlling of the situation. She needed to protect everyone which wasn’t a bad thing.

The spell aspect was throughout the book. I liked how Hoffman wrote the Owens using their powers. It wasn’t always spells but more with how the Owens were feeling. Their emotions took over and caused some effect to objects or to those around them.

Now I will say that I had watched the movie first because I didn’t know that there was a book at that time. When my mom told me that there was a book she insisted that I borrow her copy. The movie and book are obviously very similar but there are differences. In the book the daughters of Sally are older than in the movie. I enjoyed that more as you got to see them grow up some and read about the difficulties they encountered being part of the Owens, just like their mom and aunt. In the book you also got to know more about Sally and Gillian. In the movie you get to know the characters but the book expands on the details.

I think that both movie and book are well done, and enjoyable to read and watch over and over at least for me.

Leave a Reply

