Dark Lover

Dark LoverWrath is a powerful vampire who has been alone for centuries consumed with his need for vengeance. He is part of a brotherhood that protects and Wrath will find himself  saddled with a new person to protect, the daughter of one of his oldest friends. Unknowingly to Wrath this woman will mean much more to him than just a person to protect.

Beth Randall was a reporter and did her job well. She was liked by many but soon her life will change forever. After meeting a mysterious man she will find out exactly who she really was and what was destined to happen to her.

Dark Lover is the first book to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. I have to say that I have passed by this author numerous times as I walked down the aisles of my library. I never felt the need to grab one of the books that is until I was told repeatedly to try it, so I did.

First off I really loved this book, but this is the second time I started it. I had started the book too late the other night and I think speed reading way too fast. There is a lot of information that was getting lost, so I stopped for the night. I picked it up the next day and started again right from the beginning of the book. I don’t know what it was but I started to get into this book right away. Maybe it was because I wasn’t too tired and the fact I was not speed reading, I was taking my time. By taking my time I found myself falling right into the story of Wraith, Beth and the brotherhood. I also liked that Ward makes the rules different with vampires with how they can eat regular food. She also created her own glossary about this vampire world which was kind of cool as it brings you into this world.

Wrath is a kick ass kind of vampire who is lonesome. I found him surprising with what was under his sunglasses and how it is a weakness but he has overcome it and is still the strong warrior. I also found it interesting that becoming a vampire didn’t heal that ailment like some vampire books have described. Beth was a brave woman who is getting her world rocked with all that is happening to her. The romance is a factor in the book between Wrath and Beth within the first moment they officially meet as he scared her with his presence. The second meeting however is a little different and much more explosive. This story is definitely a paranormal romance novel as there are vampires running about the pages and I thought that Ward was creative with the turning process of Beth as she was half human/half vampires.

The enemy are called the Lessers and the guys who is being focused on being the enemy is Mr. X who is a sadistic man. Well at the end of the book the enemy is defeated but these Lessers are far from over as they will be a group that the brotherhood will have to keep fighting.

With all the brothers who are mentioned I know that each one of them will have their own book and more will follow as this is a pretty big series. I am excited that there are plenty of books to read. I have the second book which I will be reading next.

2 thoughts on “Dark Lover

  1. Gayle, you are making me want to reread this series!! Wrath is my favorite of all the brothers, not that the rest aren’t some hunky vampires.

    • Dot I think you should! I have only read the first and second book of the series but I know that this series will become a favorite of mine. I love the the world that J. R. Ward created.

Leave a Reply

