Paradise County

Paradise CountyAlexandra Haywood had come to her fathers house in Shelby county after his suicide. She had come to close up his house and sell off the horses. Alex will be distracted by the man she had tried to fire, Joe, and the strange noises she had heard in her house.

Paradise County is a novel by Karen Robards. I loved this book. The story flew by as I wanted to read it as quickly as I could so I would be able to find out the killer.

I really liked Alex as a character. She was not a snob but a girl who had lost her father and was trying to do the best she could. I liked the humor of it when she tired to fire Joe but he would not allow her fire him. There was a sinister part of this book which was that someone was watching Alex. Everyone thought that she was imagining things but the killer was watching her and waiting. I liked Joe. He was a strong character. He was a tough worker and a great father. I liked his teasing ways but he could be a very serious man, he was someone perfect for Alex.

Alright now Neely was the little sister and a hell raiser. She does not deserve what happens to her but she is a troubled kid. I liked that towards the end she is a stronger version of herself which redeems her character.

The killer was very evil and sadistic with his victims. One of his victims was a surprise to Joe. I cringed at the idea of him getting his hands on Alex or her sister Neely. With the identity of the killer I was surprised by the person but it made sense that he was the predator as the facts were revealed.

In the book there was a very small part which was paranormal. Alex and Neely both at one point during the book had seen their deceased father. I liked that with each time he appeared he was trying to help his daughters. His last scene was a nice send off for the book.

Leave a Reply

