Seducing Mr. Knightly

Seducing Mr. KnightlyAnnabelle Swift has loved Derek Knightly since she first got the job as a writer, three years ago. She was tired of waiting and wanted to do something to make him notice her, which was a difficult task.

Derek Knightly lived for his paper but there was another desire he wanted and that was for his half brother to acknowledge him. Derek needed to marry a woman of aristocratic birth. He had the perfect woman in mind but his eyes will be looking elsewhere, to his columnist Annabelle.

Seducing Mr. Knightly is the fourth and final book to the series Writing Girls by Maya Rodale. After reading the other three books I was anticipating for Knightly’s time in the spotlight and I have to say I was happy to read the book. Knightly is not your heroic character as his obsession was his newspaper and to be in the same social class as his half brother. Because of that ambition he was cruel at times and oblivious of certain things like how Annabelle was in love with him. I liked Annabelle and wanted her to find that happiness but I wondered at times if she should just cut her losses. Then again I wanted her to stick with Knightly because he was more than his newspaper, he was a man that deserved happiness as well.

Now I knew that in the end they would be together as Maya Rodale would not be cruel to the readers to deny us the happy ending for Derek and Annabelle. Well we get the ending it will just take a lot to get there. I was wondering how the story would go. My thought was she would try and succeed but then his ambition is too strong or he makes a stupid mistake and then they make up. There are parts to that plot which are true as it is a basic plot but how Rodale writes about this couple I found humor in the attempts of seduction. It was even sweet.

With the Writing Girl’s series I am done with the books I have to read from Maya Rodale. There are several more series and novels that I have yet to read from Rodale so I will have a selection to pick from when I come back to her books.

Leave a Reply

