When Strangers Marry

When Strangers MarryMaximilin Vallerand has suffered from rumors of him killing his wife. His place in society was no longer welcomed by everyone. His goal was to get revenge on the man that had an affair with her and who Max suspected had killed her. Max will get his chance when Lysette is brought to his home but he will find that revenge might not be as important.

Lysette was fleeing from an unwanted marriage that her stepfather was forcing her into. She will find herself being helped by the Vallerand family and soon married to the head of the family. Though her troubles will not be over as there are secrets she was starting to uncover.

When Strangers Marry is the first book to the series Vallerands. I absolutely loved this book from Lisa Kleypas. There was romance, betrayal, and action. From the very first page I was drawn into the story. I wanted to know more about Lysette and already hatred her family, hoping that she would get away from them. She obviously does and gets into a situation with Max. I liked them together. They were not a likely couple but they made it work. I liked how rough around the edges Max was but when dealing with his wife he was a softer man especially at the very end of the book which was sweet.

Two of the characters who I really loved other than Lysette and Max were the twins who were Max’s children from his first marriage. They were troublesome without a doubt but very entertaining to read about. I hope that they are in the second book.

The story for me held some intrigue with the mystery of who killed Max’s first wife. Throughout the book I wanted to know who was the murder and I had guessed the right person but you wondered for what reasons. Then a second murder happened and the person I had thought then did not make any sense. It turns out the person I thought was the murderer was. Kleypas reveals all in the end. There was some justice but I still felt that the murderer could have gotten a little more of a punishment but since Max and Lysette got their happy ending I was fine with how Kleypas ended the book.

I am reading the second book next which will finish up the two book series.

Leave a Reply

