Strings Attached

Strings AttachedStrings Attached is a novel that was chosen for my book club which was co-written by Joanne Lipman and Melanie Kupchynsky. I really did like this book. It was inspirational and evoked many different emotions in me while I was reading this book. The emotions of sadness was definitely towards the end of the book but the happy or at least memorable were in the beginning and middle of the book.

So the story is about a Ukrainian music teacher Mr. K who calls up an old student, Joanne Lipman, who is a journalist. He tells her that his daughter, Stephanie, is missing. Joanne asks him to tell his story. You are then brought back to the beginning when Melanie, Mr. K’s daughter, and Joanne were five years old. You get a look into these two woman’s life and how Mr. K changed them to be gifted musicians.

This story reminded me about a teacher I had for two years in high school and she was the hardest teacher and did not back down. She gave me a low grading on a report and told me I was better than that grade. I wanted to prove her right and I worked hard. I improved and I believe if she wasn’t tough I would not have succeeded. Tough teaching is a touchy subject but I believe that those teachers are looking out to help the student. Teachers nowadays would not be shouting like Mr. K but they can definitely still strict.

The end of the book left me with tears in my eyes. It was a sad ending but written very well, though there were still questions I had like about Stephanie. Melanie’s sister was missing which you find out in the very beginning of the book. She does not survive and her body is found seven years later. Well I wanted to know what had happened. The book did not give me complete answers. I looked up who the killer was and found out it was the maintenance man in Stephanie’s building. I had found out this information in an article where Melanie Kupchynsky was talking about the book and I really respected why she did not put more information about her sisters disappearance/murder. Her reason was that she wanted to write about her sisters life not her death.

Strings Attached is an inspirational book that was worth reading, and I was happy to step out of my normal romance books.

Leave a Reply

