Surrender Becomes Her

Surrender Becomes HerMarcus Sherbrook was a trustworthy man and was almost the perfect man except for the incident when his ward had fled and ran to India with a man she married. Now his ex-ward, Miss Isabel Dunham was back after a decade of being away from England. Marcus will find out that she is being blackmailed and he will do anything to help her.

Surrender Becomes Her is the third book to the series Becomes Her by Shirlee Busbee. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I was pulled in but I will admit that it was not right away. It took me several more pages to get to know these characters, even though you already knew Marcus, but once you really got to know them I was hooked and wanted to continue on until the end.

Marcus was a gentleman and a man you could trust. He was a good man that wanted to do right and was not a passive one as he knew how to fight. I liked that even though Isabel vexed him he was there to help her no matter what. Then there was Isabel who was holding a secret that she carried. I figured out the secret pretty early on or at least guessed the right secret. Isabel was a strong woman and would do anything to protect those she loved. I liked that she stayed true and did the best she could with the life that she had chosen for herself.

The villain was clearly Whitley who wanted to blackmail Isabel but there were more involved on another quest for the French, there was more to the story. I liked that the gentleman who was never named was not much of a traitor as the other man. My guess is the man’s identity will be resolved in the fourth book, Passion Becomes Her, which I will be reading next.

Leave a Reply

