The Truth About Lord Stoneville

The Truth About Lord StonevilleMarquess of Stoneville, Oliver Sharpe, had lived with scandal for the last nineteen years since his parents death when he was sixteen years old. Now as a man he has a new problem that starts with his grandmother who threatens to disown him and his siblings if they do not find a spouse in the next year. Oliver will play his grandmothers bluff and blackmail Maria Butterfield but will find that he will not be immune to her as he would have liked.

Miss Maria Butterfield was in London to find her fiance who had not been heard from for the last three months. She will find herself in trouble when she is claimed to be a thief and will be blackmailed into pretending to be Oliver Sharpe’s fiance and will help her find her real one. Maria did not know that by agreeing she will start to fall for the man.

The Truth About Lord Stonville is the first book to the series Hellions of Halstead Hall by Sabrina Jeffries. I really loved this book. Previously I have read the fifth book of the series and thought it was great but it was a story in process. I wished I had started with this book but oh well it doesn’t always happen. Thanks to reading it out of order I know some of the secrets but with starting at the beginning I will be able to read how those secrets had come to be. I also enjoyed reading about Celia and Pinter, who are the main characters in the fifth book, and how they interact with each other.

Oliver was a troubled man who was living with plenty of guilt since he was sixteen years old. I liked learning the mystery with what had happened with the parents and how it had started with what happened with Oliver. Maria was a determined woman to find the man who was her fiance. I liked her backbone as she did not just give into to what Oliver wanted. I thought the interaction between them was at times sweet but mostly it was steamy as Oliver was making it his mission to seduce this woman.

The family I really loved. All of the siblings played a part in the book and all had their individual voices. I really can’t wait to read their stories and I was able to get all six books from the series. I have already read the fifth book but I will be re-reading it anyways to go through the entire series.

A Hellion in Her Bed is the second book which I will be reading next.

Leave a Reply

