If the Slipper Fits

If the Slipper FitsAnnabelle Quinn was orphaned as an infant never knowing her parents just that she was illegitimate. Annabelle will have a chance to leave her position as a teacher and become a governess. She jumped at the chance as this place treated her more like a servant. She will find joy helping the young Duke but will find that the Uncle of the Duke was catching her attention especially with his seductive ways.

Lord Simon Westbury had taken his nephew over as a ward when Nicholas’s parents were killed in an accident. Simon had not seen his brother in over ten years due to a betrayal and had become jaded. When the new governess is brought in he will find his eyes following her and wanting her to be his mistress.

If the Slipper Fits is the first book to the series Cinderella Sisterhood by Olivia Drake. Olivia Drake plays off the fairy tale Cinderella which I really liked. It has been a while since I have read a book by Olivia Drake and I remember liking her but when I read this book I really loved it. Her writing is fun and lighthearted.

The characters of Annabelle and Simon are well written and I liked them both right off. Simon seemed standoffish due to his past with his brother who is deceased but he does come to term with it and becomes a better man. It takes Annabelle to make him see that and change. Annabelle was like the Cinderella especially with her glass slippers. It was kind of funny as those really didn’t have any real part in the book that is except towards the end. I liked that it was the slippers that will be taken from Annabelle as she found the man she will love. So maybe the slippers are a way to bring love especially by a woman, Lady Milford, who wants to play matchmaker.

As the shoes were taken in the first book I have a feeling that you will read about them in the second book, but maybe not. I will find out as I have the second book, Stroke of Midnight, and I’m reading it next.

2 thoughts on “If the Slipper Fits

  1. Gayle, between you and Carol Cork over at Rakes and Rascals, I have a TBR pile that is inching me out of my room like the blob in the old movie.

Leave a Reply

