Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover

Never Judge a Lady by Her CoverI have waited for the fourth book to Rules of Scoundrels by Sarah MacLean. I have been waiting to read this book since I read the third book. I had a need to read the book because of the big surprise which was at the end of the third book. Alright big spoiler on this one so if you don’t want to know more then I would stop reading right now! Chase is really Anna who is really the Duke of Leighton’s sister, Gerogiana, who we heard about in Sarah MacLean’s other series. I love that MacLean connects her characters like that. So now that I got that out of my system here is a summary of the book.

Lady Georgiana had suffered a scandal and paid the price but she has a secret that no one in London knows except her partners. Lady Georgiana may be a ruined girl but she is also the notorious Chase who owns the Fallen Angel. After six years of playing the part she finds that she will have to come back into society to find a husband with a title for the sake of her daughter but there will be a man who will have her distracted, Duncan West. Not only does he distract but he will discover that she is hiding more which threatens her identity.

Duncan West was a driven man and brilliant who owned a chain of newspapers. He looked for secrets and revealed them to either help or hinder. He will put it upon himself to help Lady Georgiana after his paper had wronged her but he will find that there is something off with the Lady. Duncan will want to discover her secret while he guarded his own.

I loved this book. Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover was fantastic book to read. I had been a little disappointed with the third book but there were no problems with the fourth book. I was hooked right away and fascinated by the way that Georgiana had her different identities. I thought that MacLean did a very impressive job at hiding the identity of Chase with the first three books. I had never even guessed that Chase was a woman.

Georgiana was a strong woman yet so vulnerable at the same time especially when it came to acting like herself who had been ruined. When she played Chase she was strong and determined with a vengeance streak. Now Duncan was interesting. He had his own secrets and MacLean wrote his story well. I was hooked and wanted to know what had happened to him. You of course will find out but it is closer to the end and I was surprised by the information that you find out.

The romance between Georgiana and Duncan is steamy. There is definitely sexual tension that amounts but it does not take long for them to find that lust together and when they do it is fiery.

The villain was quite a villain but I felt that he was down played and it was really about Georgiana and her secret which was alright with me. Though MacLean does make sure that the villain is known and that he is a despicable man who deserves what is coming towards him.

The ending is pure justice for Duncan and for Georgiana. They get their happy ending which I could not be happier with since they are together at the end. The ending could be considered sappy but I found it perfect. With this book the series ends as all four owners of The Fallen Angel stories have been told. I don’t know if Sarah MacLean will be writing more on the series but I do hope that she will write more stories. Maybe she will write one with Sophie who was introduced in this book. Only time will tell.

2 thoughts on “Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover

  1. I love Sarah MacLean and this series. I have this one sitting on my TBR pile waiting to be read.

Leave a Reply

