Missing You

Missing YouJess was getting back to her life after living through war because of her job which made her lose her ability. Though Jess is not happy with her life in New York. She likes teaching kids but not becoming a professional musician. She will be shocked to find Rob, the boy she loved and who she broke up with, was at her doorstep and asking for help to find his sister.

Missing You is the fifth and final book to the series 1-800-Where-R-You by Meg Cabot. I was happy that she was able to write another book after the four books. With the fourth one she ended it and it was good but I wanted to know more with what was going to happen with this group Jess was working with and how Jess and Rob progressed in the relationship department.

So as I was reading the book I started to remember more and more of what the book was about but I was still missing little details. I was shocked to read about how Jess got post traumatic stress disorder which resulted in her losing her powers. Then there was Rob who was seen kissing another girl. Well I knew that Cabot would not disappoint us with Rob and Jess not being together, and she doesn’t. Its hard at first but when you find out what Rob has done to better his life and it is for Jess which will make your heart melt.

The missing sister was interesting and led them on a path of some pretty bad things that involved girls being taped and who were underage. I liked the end scene as the bad guy does not get the happily ever after ending since that is reserved for Jess and Rob.

So since the beginning Jess’s mom, Toni, has not been my favorite. It is like she wants Jess to be the perfect daughter and Jess is not that girl. I hated that she disapproved of Rob and kept reminding Jess that he kissed another woman. I was happy that she changed towards the end, well to a point. Her dad though was pretty great especially the last book. It surprised me that Cyrus, the FBI agent, was also pretty nice. He wasn’t bugging Jess to join back up since her powers came back. Mostly I figured it was because of her post traumatic stress but it was still nice he didn’t try to manipulate her.

So with that ends the series I read from Meg Cabot when I was a teenager. I have only read one other series which was Insatiable. That one was not bad. There are others out there like the Princes Diaries but I was never into that one and the fact was after this series I stopped reading a lot of young adult books. Down the road I might try another one of her series.

Leave a Reply

