Safe House and Sanctuary

Safe House and SanctaryAfter reading the first two books of the series 1-800-Where-R-You I was ready to start the third and fourth book that are in this book titled Vanished by Meg Cabot.

Safe House

Jess is back in school and finds that something is different. A girl was murderer over the summer and people blame Jess for not being at home to help them find her. Jess will have a chance to help this time when another cheerleader goes missing.

Safe House is the third book to the series. I have noticed with each book the situations get a little darker and more dangerous. Plus Jess’s power is growing but still doesn’t work always when she needs to have it. I thought Cabot did a good job with how Jess finds these girls and how it was her powers that helped her even though she was not sleeping.

Meg Cabot keeps Jess with her spunky attitude and I felt that she was more of a Nancy Drew in the book but one with attitude. Rob is still by her side and it looks like he is getting used to the idea of liking Jess but he is still worried.

In this story there was more of a mystery with who killed the cheerleader and it really could have been anyone in the town. I wasn’t sure for the most of the book who the killer was which I liked and I thought it was interesting to read how Cabot wrote the story with misdirection.

Sanctuary

On Thanksgiving evening Jess and her parents will find out that her neighbor, a teenager was missing. That night Jess will find him in the cornfield. Another kid will go missing and Jess takes it upon herself to look for him which will land her in hot water along with Rob. They are going after the cult the True Americans and they wouldn’t do down with out a fight.

The fourth book is Sanctuary and as I keep reading I love the series more and more. I love revisiting authors and their books, and since it has been over ten years since I have read the series it was fun to revisit the Lightning Girl.

The danger was all from this cult and it looked that Jess and Rob were in even more danger as they tried to get close to the cult. Cabot escalated the amount of danger for the characters which was entertaining to read. This matured the book to a point as with more dangerous situations Jess grows up just a little more.

So the end of this book I was happy as Jess was finally getting her happy ending with Rob and I couldn’t be happier. Jess was even going to work with others like her with the FBI. This is how the series ended and I liked it but I wanted more. But the series doesn’t end because in 2006 the fifth and final book was written giving this series a look into the future with Jess out of high school. I am reading Missing You next.

Leave a Reply

