Outlander

OutlanderClaire Randall was on her second honeymoon in 1945 when she will find herself walking one day along the ancient stone circles transporting her to the past. Claire will find herself in Scotland that is being torn apart by war and were being fought by the Highland clans in 1743. Claire will be in danger during this time that she does not belong but to survive she must. This survival will lead her down the path of many Scots but there will be one that will spark a desire in her, the gallant Scot warrior, James “Jamie” Fraser.

Outlander is the first book to the series Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I was strongly encouraged to try this book several months ago but with my pile of books to read I had too many to get through. Now that my pile is a little less I picked up the book. It was also because there is a series that has been created based on the book/series. It aired right at the end of July. I recorded all the episodes at the time without watching. I wanted to read the first book before I watched the first episode. After I finished the book I pretty much went to watching some of the episodes and will say I was hooked with how they created the series.

Alright now back to the book. I thought it was a good book to read. I was very entertained by this story but there were times that it dragged on which was not as great. Now I know that you have to have that to build the story and to let you know the characters. So that was needed but it did slow down the book for me, but I wanted to stick with it.

Claire was an interesting woman and a survivor. She does adapt well to this new environment but there will still be some bumps in the road with how she handles certain things. I can understand her need to survive which means to go along with the past and find a life there. Jamie I really liked but then I didn’t like him at times as he was a little too harsh with Claire. Then again this is back in 1743 and Jamie is a Scot warrior so it felt like that was how it would have been. I liked at the end Jamie was very understanding with Claire and the secret she was carrying.

What I liked was I felt I was back in that time period in 1743 Scotland with the amount of description Gabaldon writes. The dialogue was done really well with all the characters. I liked that Claire sounded like an outsider.

I finished the book and thought I would be definitely interested in reading more because there is still a lot to figure out. Will she get back? Will Claire ever see Frank again? What about Claire and Jamie, will they be having their own happy ending? Of course with this being a series I am assuming there will be plenty of things that could happen to them.

2 thoughts on “Outlander

  1. I liked this book when I read it several years ago but I never continued on with the series. I did not have the Starz TV channel so I didn’t get to see the TV series. I’m hoping it will be available on DVD in the future. I’ve watched some snippets on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

