Heartbreaker

HeartbreakerLaurant Madden is worried about her brother but she will find out that she will need to be scared for herself. There is a killer that is targeting her and wants her dead.

Nick Buchanan has come to his friends help which in turn was to really help out Laurant. He will have to stay close to her and pretend to be more to keep her safe from the killer who is after her.

Heartbreaker is the first book to the series Buchanan/FBI by Julie Garwood. She is one of those authors I have walked by without a seconds glance. I am fixing that with this first book and I have to say I liked it. There was insistent intrigue with the very first chapter with the killer telling Father Thomas Madden that he is coming after Laurant, Thomas’s sister. After that part I was kind of hooked with wanting to know who the killer was and what was going to happen next. I will say at times I just wanted to have the story move along as it was a little long in some places.

The idea of a killer after a woman is not a knew story but I thought Garwood wrote it well and she gave some deceit to go along with the plot to make it more. Laurant for me was weak at times but that was her demeanor at least on the outside. She is strong and a fighter with wants and needs. She shows it more and more throughout the book as is letting go. Now Nick was a charismatic man but a dangerous one at that. I did like that Nick was kind of a romantic but not always good at showing his feelings. Being an FBI agent came in handy but was also a curse because it was also a reason that the bad guys might come after him.

There are some good amount of twist and turns in the book with some people who could be suspects. The real suspect was one I didn’t see coming. In hindsight it makes sense which is always the case with suspense books. Other than the true bad guy there were some pretty messed up people who were villains in their own way. I can see myself going back to this series or trying another one of her books. I do want to make sure that I at least try the second book to this series as it will be with Nick’s brother. I am interested in knowing more about these Buchanan’s.

Leave a Reply

