Mary Poppins

Mary PoppinsMary Poppins is a classic story that you have either read as a child, an adult or have seen the movie. I had only seen the movie when I was a child and numerous of plays when I was younger. I had just seen the play this past year which got me thinking about the book and how I have never read it. What got me to read the book was watching the DVD of Saving Mr. Banks. I fell in love with that movie and I wanted to read the famous book of P.L Travers.

The book Mary Poppins is similar to the movie but the book does have a lot more detail with the activities Mary Poppins and the children encountered. For me there seemed to be quite a difference in detail but that is what happens with books turning to movies. The movies can’t have everything that was written. In the book there is more of a whimsical atmosphere because there are more activities that the children get to embark on and of course lessons to learn.

I am a visual person so the movie was very entertaining to watch but with how Travers writes you can certainly image everything that goes on in the book. There are also illustrations that accompany this book which were done by Mary Shepard. The illustrations are not done on every page but they are given at the right moments to convey the story.

Mary Poppins is a story that can be read and enjoyed at anytime no matter your age.

2 thoughts on “Mary Poppins

  1. Gayle, I crave time to enjoy some of these childhood classics. Perhaps, if I’m diligent, that will be my New Year resolution. I saw the Broadway production of Mary Poppins when it came to FL last year and loved it all over again.

Leave a Reply

