Kiss Me While I Sleep

Kiss Me While I sleepLily Mansfield is a hired assassin who works side jobs for the CIA. She has been an assassin since eighteen and very good at her job but on this next mission it will be going against the agency she worked for. She was out for revenge against the man, Salvatore Nervi, who killed her good friends their daughter. She will have to watch her back as the agency will try to take her in.

Lucas Swain was on a job for the CIA to bring in Lily Mansfield and he was to do whatever he could to bring her in. He will be drawn to the woman and will find himself walking a thin line as he helps her discover the truth with what happened to her friends and what Nervi was do up to which would harm numerous people.

Kiss Me While I Sleep is the third book to CIA’s Spies by Linda Howard. I absolutely loved the first two books and although I did like this one I wouldn’t say it was my favorite. I suppose that in the previous two books I felt I connected with the characters a little easier. In this book I was drawn in but I couldn’t get into the characters all the way as there was too much deceiving going on. Then again that is what Lucas and Lily have to do, deceive. It is their job when working for the agency.

What I liked about the story was this mystery of why Lily’s friends and their daughter were killed. I thought how Howard developed that story was really well done. She kept you going with one small clue to another and another. I didn’t know how it was going to end with the mystery but when all was said and done there was justice to be found for those who had died.

I wasn’t too into the ending. Yes it was a happy ending for Lily and Lucas which for me was the problem. I wanted them to have a happy ending but with how things were shaping out to be it didn’t seem right. It seemed too force at the end for that happy ending. This ending though of course did not throw me off from Linda Howard as I plan on reading more because she is a very good writer and her books are enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

