The Thousand Dollar Tan Line

The Thousand Dollar Tan LineVeronica Mars is back in Neptune working on a new case leaving her future in New York behind. She will get a case of a girl who went missing on Spring Break. Soon another girl will go missing and Veronica will have to search quickly to find out what is going on.

Veronica Mars was a television show that I watched years ago, all three seasons, and I have watched it numerous times over the years. I could not and still cannot get enough of Veronica Mars with her sleuth skills and her quirky wit. So then this year a movie was made with Veronica Mars and it was 10 years later after the series was finished. Needless to say but I will do it anyways because I was so excited to see this movie. I saw it and own it. I just re-watched it the other night which got me in the mood to read this book. I bought the book about a month or two ago and with all the books I read from the library it just got pushed to the side more and more. To be honest I was a little scared that it would not be as good as the series and movie since I have loved watching them. Well the book The Thousand Dollar Tan Line was better than I could have ever anticipated. Rob Thomas writes this story with the help of Jennifer Graham and it was fantastic writing. It was full of quick wit, some danger and overall fun. For me it was like walking back into the world of Veronica Mars, like I never left.

This book takes up right after the movie which I thought was pretty awesome. She has a big case with one missing girl and danger will be at every corner as she starts to mess with the cartel. But then another girl will go missing who was at the same party with the cartel. So you think these two girls are connected with the party well just remember this is a mystery and things don’t go always as you would think. Just when you think you know who is the one behind it another twist shows up. It is all about misdirection with Veronica Mars.

In the book Logan is back in the military but he will still be around connecting with Veronica which made me happy because since the beginning I was always a Veronica and Logan fan. Keith Mars is there who I loved as he still played the whacky father but had that serious side who was a concerned father. There was also Wallace, Mac, Weevill all part of the cast and the idiot Sheriff who made himself known in the movie. I thought as a whole these characters lived up to how they were portrayed in their memorable roles.

Amongst all the twists and turns in the book there was another surprise. A person from Veronica’s past will show up. I was torn with the character because of how Veronica was treated by this person but I wanted to see how and if they changed.

The ending is true form of how Veronica handles danger which usually means she gets hurt in the process but the bad guys are always gotten. There is another book to this series which is fantastic. I did not know if this was going to be a one time book, but it appears that it isn’t. Veronica Mars might be gone now from the television but will be alive in print and I can’t wait to read the next installment to the series. My only hope is that Rob Thomas continues to write these stories.

Leave a Reply

