Take Me Home for Christmas

Take Me Home for Christmas (Whiskey Creek, #5)Sophia DeBussi had lived through her own personal hell and she knew she deserved it with the choices she made through life. Determined to get her life back after her husbands death she will do what she can not to be broken. Sophia will be surprised when Ted offers to help, but she knows that she can’t get close to him again as she was going to make sure to leave Whiskey Creek for good.

Ted Dixon had loved Sophie fourteen years ago and now all he felt was anger, at least that is what he wanted to believe. He was afraid that if she was around him for too long he would forgive and feel more. Ted will find it in his heart to forgive and hirer her when no one else would, but he will still be scared to take that next step that could lead to heartbreak once again.

Take Me Home for Christmas is the fifth book to Whiskey Creek series from Brenda Novak. I can’t get enough of this series and its sad as I only have one left to read in my pile. Every time I pick up a book from this series I know that there will be love but it is love that is hard, not the simple kind. There will be tough situations that the characters will have to get out of and they will make mistakes, sometimes a lot of them. Novak makes these characters seem real with their faults.

So Sophia is a changed woman. She changed the moment she married the slime husband of hers. She was a battered woman who needed a break and she does get it when her husband dies running away. Sophia’s biggest problem was believing that she wasn’t good enough and I liked that she became stronger and more secure as the book went on. I even liked her when she had a relapse as it made her more real. Ted was a man struggling to forget the one woman he loved. He makes mistakes in the book and will have to pay for them but he isn’t a bad guy, just human. He comes around and accepts his feelings for Sophia but it does take a while. Theirs was a romance that never ended, it was just waiting dormant until they were ready.

I hated the character of Chief Stacy. He was an ass and thought too much of himself. He was getting too dangerous as the power was going to his head. I have a feeling that just because of what happened at the end of the book will not stop him especially as he has several vendettas against several people. Though I could be wrong. I will find out soon as Come Home to Me is next on my list of books to read, and is my last book from Whiskey Creek.

2 thoughts on “Take Me Home for Christmas

  1. brendanovak says:

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the series, Gayle! And don’t worry. When you finish COME HOME TO ME, THE HEART OF CHRISTMAS (Eve’s story) will probably be out!!

    • I am enjoying the series greatly. I am a pretty fast reader so I have now just finished Come Home to Me and am looking forward to reading Eve’s story when it comes out in October. I was wondering if you will be writing any more books in the series after The Heart of Christmas?

Leave a Reply

